Miami Dade College 62014c19c8580

5 Florida colleges will receive $10 million to create charter schools focused on career and technical education

Feb. 7, 2022
The money will be allocated to Miami Dade College, Northwest Florida State College, Tallahassee Community College, Santa Fe College, and St. Pete College.

Five Florida colleges will receive $10 million to establish and operate Career and Technical Education charter schools.

The schools: 

  • Miami Dade College in Miami 
  • Northwest Florida State College in Niceville 
  • Tallahassee Community College in Tallahassee 
  • Santa Fe College in Gainesville 
  • St. Petersburg College in St. Petersburg

The funds will enable the colleges to create charter schools that will enable high school students to earn credentials and college credit while in high school, reports WFOR News

The charter schools also will offer apprenticeships, and cybersecurity and IT training.

The $10 million is part of $89 million the state will be dedicating to workforce education within state colleges, universities and K-12 schools, reports WTSP News.

Sponsored Recommendations