17 States get Funding to Improve Cyber Connectivity

The National Science Foundation has awarded a total of $20 million in stimulus funds to help 17 states improve their technological infrastructure. The awards are part of the Improvement Inter-Campus and Intra-Campus Cyber Connectivity (RII C2) program, which is designed to help states that have less extensive scientific infrastructures and typically receive lower amounts of federal research dollars.

The money will enable each state to enhance the cyber connectivity among its higher-education institutions. The awards are meant to focus especially on increasing individual and institutional participation in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) research and education activities.

The state receiving grants: Alabama, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah and West Virginia.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.