Schoolhouse Beat

Inkster (Mich.) district dissolved and split among 4 neighbors

The 2,200 students who attended the Inkster (Mich.) school system have been reassigned to four nearby districts. The Detroit Free Press reports that the Wayne Regional Educational Service Agency board has voted to formally dissolve the Inkster district. The former Inkster territory will be absorbed by the Romulus, Westwood, Wayne-Westland and Taylor districts. Three of the former Inkster school buildings will become part of the Taylor district. The high school becomes part of the Romulus district, and the other remaining building is now part of the Wayne-Westland district. Notices are being mailed to Inkster families to tell them where students will be assigned.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.