Schoolhouse Beat

6 Memphis suburbs are voting again on having their own school districts

A public vote on July 16 will decide whether six suburbs of Memphis, Tenn., will be part of the newly unified Shelby County school system. The Associated Press says leaders in the municipalities of Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, Lakeland and Millington do not want to be part of the school system that came into existence on July 1 when the Memphis City district and the Shelby County district combined. Those suburbs voted last year to create their own districts, but a judge ruled that the law that permitted the vote was illegal. The state legislature revised the law to allow another referendum.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.